The conference

The German Conference on Bioinformatics (GCB) is an annual, international conference devoted to all areas of bioinformatics. Recent meetings attracted a multinational audience with 250 – 300 participants each year. The meeting is open to all fields of bioinformatics and is meant as a platform for the German and European bioinformatics community.

The upcoming GCB will be organized by Center for Bioinformatics at University of Tübingen. It will focus on computation in the academic natural sciences and aims to showcase applications and opportunities beyond. Spearheading scientists will be presenting along with young researchers and industry representatives.

Confirmed Keynotes

Ruth Ley
Barbara Treutlein
Birte Höcker
Richard Neher
Mihai Pop

Fachgruppe Bioinformatik (FaBI)
To jointly promote and direct the development of the field of Bioinformatics, the associations GI (Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V.), DECHEMA (Gesellschaft für Chemische Technik und Biotechnologie e.V.), GBM (Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie e.V.) and GDCh (Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker e.V.) founded the expert group for bioinformatics (Fachgruppe Bioinformatik) in September 2014. Since then the group unites interests of academia and industry in the field. The GCB is the conference of FaBI.

For more information visit (german)

Program Committee

  • Oliver Kohlbacher, Chair
  • Andrei Lupas, Chair
  • Nico Pfeifer, Chair
  • Rolf Backofen
  • Jan Baumbach
  • Christoph Bock
  • Sebastian Böcker
  • Christoph Dieterich
  • Viktoria Dorfer
  • Martin Eisenacher
  • Caroline Friedel
  • Holger Fröhlich
  • Alexander Goesmann
  • Arndt von Haeseler
  • Julian Heinrich
  • Michael Hiller
  • Lars Kaderali
  • Olga Kalinina
  • Gunnar Klau
  • Ina Koch
  • Tobias Marschall
  • Manja Marz
  • Burkhard Morgenstern
  • Stephan Ossowski
  • Sven Rahmann
  • Matthias Rarey
  • Knut Reinert
  • Bernhard Renard
  • Alexander Schoenhuth
  • Marcel Schulz
  • Fabian Theis
  • Zlatko Trajanoski
  • Martin Vingron
  • Michael Ziller


  • Kay Nieselt
  • Daniel Huson
  • Oliver Kohlbacher
  • Andrei Lupas
  • Sven Nahnsen
  • Nico Pfeifer
  • Julia Schulze-Hentrich
  • Detlef Weigel
  • Caner Bağcı, Web Services
  • Marine Gaudefroy-Bergmann, Social Events
  • Ania Gorska, Design